Sunday, July 09, 2006

on the caine...

This year's winner of the Caine Prize for African Writing will be revealed tomorrow, Monday 10 July. It will be a choice between 5 writers (4 of them women) including Nigeria's Sefi Atta.

The Caine writers - Atta, Muthoni Garland, Laila Lalami, Mary Watson & Darrel Bristow-Bovey - will be at the South Bank Centre on Tuesday 11 July. Hosted by TV personality Jon Snow, the shortlisted writers will be reading from their work.


Update, 10 July
South African Mary Watson has won the 7th Caine Prize for African Writing. She got the £10,000 award for her short story, Jungfrau, from Moss (Kwela Books, 2004). Chair of the judges, Dr Nana Wilson-Tagoe described Watson’s winning work as: “a powerfully written narrative that works skilfully through a child’s imagination to suggest a world of insights about familial and social relationships in the new South Africa… It is superbly written and does what a short story should do, by leaving spaces around its narrative in which readers can enter again and again.”

Mary Watson lives in Cape Town. She got the Meritorious Publication Award for her collection of stories, Moss. She is currently working on her first novel - as well as a collaborative novel with a group of other South African writers.


Post a Comment

<< Home