Sunday, June 11, 2006

lapofest 2006

The 3rd edition of the annual Lagos Poetry Festival (LAPOFEST) holds in July, 2006. This year's edition of the great festival promises to be much more elaborate and more colourful than the previous ones. For one, the Festival, organised by the Lagos State Branch of Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA Lagos),in conjunction with Lagos State University (LASU), Ojo, will take place on two days, at two venues:
Day 1 (Friday, July 7, 2006): the main Campus of Lagos State University (LASU), Ojo; and
Day 2 (Saturday, July 8, 2006): National Gallery of Art (Aina Onabolu Complex), National Theatre, Iganmu.
Time (each day): 10.00 a.m.
The highlights of the Festival include intellectual discourse, poetry competitions (in four categories),drama, music and dance. The special guests expected at the 2-day Festival,whose theme is OUR LIFE, OUR POETRY, include: Chief Segun Olusola, Prof. Niyi Osundare, Prof Femi Osofisan, Prof Akachi Ezeigbo, Prof Steve Okecha, Odia Ofeimun, Dr Promise Okekwe and Dr (Mrs) Shambhavi Gopalkrishna.
Other key participants at the Carnival include: Dr Emman Usman Shehu, Dr Tayo Ogunlewe, Dr James Tsaaior,Yomi Olusegun-Joseph, Akeem Lasisi, Toni Kan Onwordi, Dagga Tolar, Austyn Njoku and Tunji Sotimirin.
The annual Poetry Festival is one of the major projects and programmes embarked upon by the current Executive Council of the Lagos State Branch of ANA,with a view to stimulating intellectual activity and reactivating Nigerians' interest in literature and the arts. The maiden edition of the Festival, generally adjudged a roaring success, was held on December 11, 2004.
More details about this year's edition will be released within two weeks of this publication.
Folu Agoi
Chairman, ANA Lagos


Post a Comment

<< Home